Funny things in life…

In life, as we know, things happen. Some believe everything happens for a reason, others don’t. As I have embarked on several new journeys in the past year or so, I have come to believe that “everything happens for a reason.”

In the past year, I really started ramping up business, working at it everyday. I moved it from the house to an office, hired someone and doing what I never thought would actually come to fruition. As life goes on, you will meet many people. Some of these persons will become friends, colleagues, business partners, advisors, mentors… The list goes on. The important thing is to always try to take at least one thing from that person. Everyone has something to give.

You’ll meet these people doing all sorts of things. You’ll meet a person doing the things you love, the things you hate, and whatever else you may be doing. Just remember to never talk bad of someone the first time you meet a person. Why? What if that person you’re talking to is a friend of the CEO and the CEO is friends with the one youre talking bad of and friend with the new acquaintance. Now you’ve just blown every possible chance to close the deal. In the recent months I have met many people doing the things I love. I met the one who I wake up to everyday with a big smile on my face, I’ve met people who have given me the opportunity to bid on incredible business opportunities, people who just want to talk, people who want to listen and so many more. Each one of these persons has left me with something.

As we go through our lives we make these decisions everyday to chose what we want out of life. If you wake up in the morning and say to yourself “Today is going to suck, I hate my job, I have no money……..” then generally, that’s how your day is going to be. However, if you wake up and say to yourself “Today is going to be great, I may not like my job, but at least I have one, I may not have a lot of money but at least I have an income………” then generally you’re day will be good, if not great. Opportunities come to those who are willing to open their eyes, close their mouth, and listen to what’s happening around us. As many have said, that’s why god gave us two ears and 1 mouth. Those who talk a lot, often talk themselves right out of a deal, those who listen, get what the clients needs are and aren’t too busy focusing on what their next statement is. Or tacky sales pitch.

It’s about making the decision everyday to better yourself. That doesn’t mean you have to better yourself in terms of income, it could be as simple as learning something new. Often times, people relate bettering themselves means having to get a better job and make more money. I don’t believe that. You can have a $10 an hour job and become a millionaire. You could better yourself by starting a new routine, or sticking to those new years resolutions. I finally started doing this. And when I did, things came in abundance. I quite smoking, started a new diet and went back to the gym. I decided to take a new road in life and start doing better for myself. I stopped listening to what everyone else wanted me to do, and focused on what I wanted to do.

If we all did this everyday you would have a much more fulfilling life, in my opinion. So how does this relate to business? Simple, if you believe that you can sell a package to x client then you will, if you wake up with a good attitude, good things will come your way. If you’re a business owner, maybe it is time to re-focus and change how your company does things. If you are that business owner, don’t forget to take care of your employees, they are the ones who make you your salary more times than not!

May you all wake up tomorrow with a big smile on your face!

Until Next Time, Cheers! -Erik

This entry was posted in Advice? Take it or Leave it..., Business. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Funny things in life…

  1. I think it’s time you veer off and write a more personal blog too. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

